Home > Uncategorized > Values

Values

I mentioned in my last post how Twitter, among other things, has really been messing me up lately (in a great way).  One of the first places I began to notice this was one night last month when I read this tweet from Steve McCoy.

Screen shot 2009-10-23 at 9.58.15 PM

I immediately teared up.  It was kind of sad and silly but the more I thought about it the more I realized that 1) I wouldn’t have reacted that way and 2) I want to react that way.  I’ve read Don’t Waste Your Life.  I’m theoretically on board with the “war-time lifestyle” Piper talks about.  I want to live that way.  But it was something more than that.  The word “value” kept pounding me in the head, asking me “What do YOU value, Matthew?  What does your family value?”  I had a very hard time with this because A) I value myself more than anything else.  It’s pretty evident in my actions.  B) We’ve NEVER had a discussion as a family about what we value.  More than that, we’ve never had a discussion about what we want to value.

I’ve followed Steve on his blog and Twitter for some time.  I know what he and his family have gone through with his wife’s health problems.  No, I take that back – I don’t know what they have gone through but as I follow him on-line I do know what they value.  More specifically, I know where their treasure is and this is really where I started to get uncomfortable in my own skin.  When sickness, disease, or death comes my way, where is my treasure?  Is it the unsurpassed value of Jesus or is it the junk bonds of my own heart?

I know what the answer was.  I know what it is growing into more and more every day.  Shortly after the referenced tweet, I asked my wife to sit down with me and talk about what we value and want to value.  We’re striking from that list all that doesn’t find Jesus as our treasure.  This is probably the most difficult journey I’ve ever been on in my life because it’s causing me to let go of that which makes me comfortable and safe and grab hold of the mane of the Lion of Judah.

We’re not done with our list.  In fact, we haven’t touched it in a couple of weeks, but we’ll be back to it.  In the mean time I’m trying to be more comfortable in exposing myself (my heart!!!) to the woman I’ve been married to for 8 years (sorry it’s taking so long, sweetie!).  It’s kind of scary, but you know what?  I’ve not felt this alive in a very long time.

Thank you, Jesus!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 24, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Thanks for sharing your journeying Matthew. You’ve got me thinking too this morning with your post.

  1. November 19, 2009 at 7:07 pm

Leave a Reply

