Home > Uncategorized > Terribly excited

Terribly excited

I keep pretending like I’m going to get back into blogging at this site. I haven’t spent much time thinking about the stuff that I want to write but I’ve been getting my butt kicked by the Holy Spirit lately and that’s provided a ton of things to think about and write. So, maybe.

I have been disciplined enough lately to write a weekly reflection post at the blog I use for church. Maybe there is a chance I’ll discipline myself to write. There’s also the fact that for the last two weeks I’ve been waking up before 6:00 AM. That’s odd because I’m not a morning person. I never have been. I’ve always wanted to be. I’ve prayed for some miraculous intervention by God Almighty that would change my personality and make me a morning person. Begrudgingly, it’s starting to happen. I’ve been waking up. I’ve been reading the Bible consistently. I’ve been praying.

I’ve been watching my flesh try to slap fight Jesus because it’s far more comfortable to breeze through life than to ask “WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO DO FOR YOU, JESUS?”

It seems like lately the people on Twitter that I follow have been writing about things I’m dealing with in my heart. I’ve been writing my heart out in my journal only to find that some person I’ve never met has Tweeted my struggle. Then I turn around and have lunch with a friend who reaches into my heart, pulls out my fears, and makes me come to grips with them.

What a terrifying and exciting time in my life!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Brett
    October 23, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Praying for you, brother.

  2. Jeff Melton
    October 23, 2009 at 8:11 am

    I’d love to be able to read about and be affected by the change God is working in your life, Matt. I don’t mean to pile onto any guilt you may be feeling about not blogging, but your own experiences (with Twitter) show how you can be touched by another person’s internet ramblings. Peace. Grace. Rest.

  3. Matthew Johnson
    October 23, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Thanks guys. Love you both.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

