Home > Uncategorized > The Return

The Return

I spent the last month traveling to Texas for Christmas and, upon returning, making preparations for a ten day trip to Israel. I returned from that trip at 3 a.m. this morning after being awake for nearly 30 hours. I’m struggling to stay awake as I write and I’m praying I make it to 9 p.m. before crashing.

I’m working on a series of posts that will detail my time in Israel and what I learned. One thing I want to get out there right now is that this is the time to go. I had more than one worried friend or family member tell me that they were worried about me but I can tell you that there was not one single moment while I was there in which I might have said, “I feel unsafe.” Tourism has plummeted in Israel which hurts both Israelis and Palestinians. Our tour guide received word that one group had cancelled which means she won’t get paid for a week of work.

The tour companies and the people where you might go in Israel do not make money when tourists get hurt. The safest person in Israel is a tourist in a tour group. If you’ve always wanted to go, do it. You won’t regret it.

I’ll be working over the next several weeks to get detailed posts up here but until the next post, here’s something that made me happy today.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

