Home > Uncategorized > What Do We Want?

What Do We Want?

From Seth Godin’s blog this morning:

What you have doesn’t make you unhappy. What you want does.

And want is created by us, the marketers.

I almost said the same thing Sunday morning and I was trying to make a little bit of a different point from Mr Godin, but the more I think about this quote the more disturbed I am.

What are the growing churches and the Christian publishers out there doing if not convincing people that what we want is what they are selling. If we don’t have it, we aren’t happy. I see this almost daily when people say, sometimes without speaking, “Look at what these other churches have or are doing. We don’t have that. I want it and I’m not happy that I don’t have it.”

Can anything be more soul destroying in a church, of all places, than to be unsatisfied with the music, preaching, teaching, or even the taste of the coffee? This is definitely one of those few but solid places where I side with John Piper. If our desire is anything else but Jesus we are missing out on being satisfied, even in the midst of our worldly dissatisfaction. Jesus isn’t going to swoop in and turn your worship leader into Matt Redman. He’s not going to turn your preacher into Bill Hybels. He’s not going to make sure you have Krispy Kreme’s every Sunday morning.

What Jesus promises is that if we desire him we will have that desire satisfied. Jesus says in John 6:35 “Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.”
Are you unhappy with your life, your church, or your ministry? Come and eat.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 19, 2008 at 8:45 am

    You’re dead right. The role of the church leadership has to be to point people to God and not to any particular services or programmes that it may provide. Only God can satisfy.

  2. August 19, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Great thoughts man. I read that post by Godin too, and I think you have an important reflection on how it applies to the Church.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

