Home > Uncategorized > Co-dependency in Ministry

Co-dependency in Ministry

I just finished reading a great post at PastorHacks about “the Co-Dependent Pastor“.  It spoke to me in a powerful way this morning.  I am announcing a change for our church’s worship schedule on Sunday morning and I’ve been experiencing a lot of ups and downs during this week about it.  One day I will feel totally confident about the decision.  I’ve filtered it through a definition of wisdom I learned from my friend Mike Harris a year and a half ago: Wisdom is doing the right thing at the right time in the right way in the right spirit.  I’m confident that this decision has met these criteria.

But, the next day I worry and worry because of how some of our folks might react.  I’ve spoken with a lot of people about this and the general response is, “It inconveniences me in some ways, but if it is good for the church I’ll support it.”  I should be thrilled at this response as it is a very mature response.  But I’m still worried to death about what those who haven’t been involved in the process will say.  I don’t take criticism well.  I don’t take disappointment well which has led to some apathetic leadership moves on my part over the years – a lot of non-decisions.

My prayer is that God will focus my heart and my emotions on Jesus and leave my dependency and self-worth with him in order to be the pastor he has called me to be.  May my confidence be in Christ and nothing else.

Technorati Tags: ,

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

