Home > Uncategorized > Reading the Bible

Reading the Bible

I’m certainly not the first to notice Scot McKnight’s new blog series on Pastor’s Wisdom – that much I can tell from Google Reader. I want to jump in and link his latest post because I want as wide a range of people to read this as possible. I don’t know Kent Anderson from Adam, but I know his heart because I desire to do what he has been doing as a pastor – soaking himself in Scripture.

I’ll be the first to admit that I know a lot more about the Bible than I know the Bible. I’m working hard to correct that, though. A couple of years ago I picked up a copy of the NIV Bible in 90 Days and thought it sounded like a great idea. It covers 12 pages a day and a person can read the Bible in, wait for it, 90 days. After I bought it I read for a day or two then put it aside and haven’t thought about it since. 15 days ago, however, I picked it up as a part of my miraculous* daily time with God and I finished Deuteronomy this morning. It’s been a joy to get that involved in Scripture and I plan on repeating it again once I finish – probably with a different translation like Rev. Anderson mentioned. I’m not an NIV fan but it’s palatable. I’m going to squeeze the KJV in that process because, as one with an undergraduate degree in English, I ought to have read one of the most majestic pieces of English literature ever produced. It may not make a whole lot of sense in public reading, but no one can deny that it is a beautiful translation.

Ps 1:1 Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. 2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. 3 And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper. 4 The ungodly are not so: but are like the chaff which the wind driveth away. 5 Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment, nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous. 6 For the LORD knoweth the way of the righteous: but the way of the ungodly shall perish.

*It’s miraculous because I’m about 40 days into an every morning devotional time and I haven’t missed a day. Those who know just how undisciplined I am probably think I’m lying, but it’s true.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 14, 2008 at 6:39 am

    When you read through the KJV I hope you’ll read it out loud with an strong upper class english accent.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

