Home > Uncategorized > Why?

Why?

Why a new blog?

1) For practical reasons: I’m making less money in my new position and need to save more because I’m now also a homeowner. I like WordPress and have used it for the last few years and using a WordPress.com blog is free. Not only that, but as I’ve packed up everything I own during the last few days, I’ve discovered that I’ve had no need to use 90% of the stuff I’ve already boxed up. Even my clothes. It makes sense to simplify and getting rid of extra expenses is one way to simplify. John Wesley, the leader of the movement I still follow used to say “Earn all you can, save all you can, give all you can.” It’s good practical advice and I’ll be saving all I can by cutting out my yearly payment for server space and domain name. I don’t live a simple lifestyle yet, but I’m trying to be less attached to stuff and more attached to Jesus.

2) I hope that the move will mark the maturation of my blogging. I’ve been mostly undisciplined and post only when I feel like no one is paying attention. Not only that, but I’ve blogged some really inane stuff in the past which reflects a lot of immaturity not just in life but also in writing. I love writing. I have since I was in junior high school. I’m not likely to ever make money or become famous because of writing but that’s no excuse for not doing it well. And it’s not just an issue of writing well, it’s also a matter of getting over myself. I want to make this a habit for me for a number of reasons, the chief being I need to get over people disagreeing with me.

3) I want to think harder and smarter about what I’m doing, as a United Methodist clergyman, to be a part of the Kingdom work in this world. How am I making the world my parish? Or maybe another way, “How am I making humanity my responsibility?” There are a lot of complex problems in this world and I want to work out what it means to be a follower of Jesus and how that informs my actions in making things right.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Allen Crum
    February 29, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Hey Matt, congrats on your new appointment. Best of luck up in NW Arkansas. Don’t know much about Prairie Grove but have heard good things. There are some great other people up there but I am sure you know that.

    See you around Arkansas, I am up for my first appointment this year.

  2. February 29, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    Congratulations on graduation and a new appointment. Let me know where you’re going to be appointed. If no one else moves (which isn’t likely) there’s at least four Asbury alums in the NW District as of today.

  3. Justin Gottlieb
    March 1, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Hey bro,

    So we haven’t talked in quite some time. What’s the new position?

    Later,
    Justin

  4. Matthew Johnson
    March 1, 2008 at 8:46 am

    Justin, good to hear from you. I’m moving to Prairie Grove, AR on Wednesday. I’ll be the pastor of the Methodist church there. I just found out about a month ago. We’re packing up and all that stuff. How’s Boston?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

